Educators of the Year

The CLS Educator of the Year award is given annually to California elementary, middle, and high school educators who exemplify educational excellence. Up to 10 finalists from each region will be honored locally. The nominee selected to represent each region will subsequently be honored at the CLS Middle-level and Teaching with Technology Conferences. At these conferences, one of the nominees at each level will be announced as CLS State Educator of the Year. Nominees may be teachers, administrators, counselors, or other certificated personnel.

Know and outstanding educator? Nominate them for a CLS Educator of the Year Award!

California League of Schools 
2020 Middle School Educators of the Year


Region 1

Elizabeth DeVinny
Digital Media Teacher
Eagle Peak Middle School
Ukiah Unified School District


Region 4

Sarah Sain
Math Teacher
J. Douglas Adams Middle School
Brentwood Unified School District


Region 7

Kim Blasingame
Physical Education Teacher
Reyburn Intermediate School
Clovis Unified School District


Region 10

Anthony Wilson
Special Education Teacher
Badger Springs Middle School

Moreno Valley Unified School District


Region 2

Cynthia Martin
Math Teacher
Diamond View Middle School
Susanville Elementary School District


CLS State Middle School Educator of the Year
Region 5

Sarah LeDuff
Social Studies Teacher

Alum Rock Middle School

Downtown College Prep


Region 8

Mario Nakakihara
Math/Drumline Teacher
Patrick Henry Middle School
Los Angeles Unified School District


Region 11

Jill Riley
Dance Teacher
Ladera Vista Junior High
School of the Arts
Fullerton School District


Region 3

Dana Smith
History Teacher/Athletic Director
Andrew Carnegie Middle School
San Juan Unified School District


Region 6

Jamey Olney
English-Language Arts Teacher
Norman N. Glick Middle School
Empire Union School District


Region 9

Michael Pelchat
Math Teacher
Olive Peirce Middle School
Ramona City Unified School District


Region 12

Ames Harris
Humanities Teacher
Los Osos Middle School
San Luis Coastal Unified
School District

California League of Schools 
2020 High School Educators of the Year


Region 1

Kelly Cramer
Roseland University Prep

Roseland School District


Region 7

Derek Kisling

Clovis West High School

Clovis Unified School District


Region 10

James Adkins

Indio High School

Desert Sands Unified School District


Region 2

Brenna Hall
Paradise High School
Paradise Unified School District


CLS State High School Educator of the Year
Region 8

TeDese Ross

Canyon Oaks High School

Monrovia Unified School District


Region 6

Matthew Soderlund

Gregori High School

Modesto City Schools


Region 9

Alissa Sculthorpe

Montecito High School

Ramona Unified School District

California League of Schools 
2020 Elementary School Educators of the Year


Region 2

Catherine Walther

Manzanita Elementary School

Manzanita Elementary School District


Region 4

Deborah Carlino

Martin Elementary School

South San Francisco Unified
School District


CLS State Elementary School Educator of the Year
Region 7

Stephanie Patterson

Liberty Elementary School

Clovis Unified School District